Why South America

29 Oct

Why South America? Well truthfully, the original plan was to make millions and buy a sailboat to sail around the world.  With my dog, Maverick onboard of course.  Well a few millions less and I’m forced to make some compromises.  With Europe really cold (and really expensive!), not to mention full of cliches like “dude, i took a year off and went to Europe last summer, drank some Absinthe, and had my organs stolen,” I looked for something closer to home.  And with awesome movies like Motorcycle Diaries, the choice was pretty clear. 

Edit. Kailtyn claims she planted the seed for South America.  This may in fact be true.

Either way, look at it this way:

Eurotrip: dude made out with his sister
Into the Wild: dies an awful death
Motorcycle Diaries: guy starts a revolution

Hey, which one would you pick?

I also wanted to do a region, not a RTW (round the world) trip where I’d really have to make some tough decisions on what to see and what to skip.  Not that 8 months is really long enough to see all of South America…but its better than the 1 or 2 it usually gets alloted on RTW trips. 

Besides, maybe I can do the rest of the world next year…

3 Responses to “Why South America”

  1. Risa October 29, 2008 at 1:34 pm #

    are you really doing this? This is amazing I’m so jealous – I wish I could do that!!!

  2. Kaitlyn October 29, 2008 at 2:00 pm #

    You are doing a great job studying for the GRE!

  3. Godwin October 29, 2008 at 2:16 pm #

    Dude, do it.

Leave a Reply

