Sum scary stuff, sum 650 meters high

30 Dec

bueones-aires-and-mendozza-236

bueones-aires-and-mendozza-244

almost too scared to enjoy this one. we took an old jeep (or some imported chinese version) up a steep climb of 20 minutes as I tried to keep my cool and keep from getting scared.

bueones-aires-and-mendozza-235

Truthfully, I wasn’t that scared and when we jumped off the mountain, I yelled with excitement.  I think Mario (my pilot) thought that to mean I wanted more and that’s when I really got scared.  We flew downwards towards another mountain and he pulled up at the last minute, barely clearing the peak.  Then we did figure eights as he maneuvered in and around mountain peaks all around us.

What really scared me though was when he practically hovered over a peak, and I could feel the wind trying to take the chute away.  For the rest of the ride I was done – scared out of my mind and incredibly worried that the wind would overtake the parachute and collapse it.

Couldn’t wait to get back down to the ground but Mario wasn’t done.  He finished the trip with some rollercoaster type moves, practically inverting us, and truly terrifying me.

bueones-aires-and-mendozza-250

At the end of the day, I guess it would be less scary than sky diving cuz the shoot is open already.  But it’s the tricks and the maneuvering that keeps the adrenaline flowing through the otherwise slow descent down.

Cool Fact: Mario said his record for flying was for 5 hours!

3 Responses to “Sum scary stuff, sum 650 meters high”

  1. Marina December 31, 2008 at 9:40 am #

    i can’t believe you actually did this..and even though i’ve wanted to do it for a long time its probably scarier than sky diving b/c you have to actually run off of the cliff yourself..with sky diving you don’t actually have to do anything. But now that you’ve done this, you can go sky diving with me next time..woohoo!

  2. johnny o January 4, 2009 at 7:54 pm #

    arent you afraid of heights? haha, i guess this trip is about conquering fears as well. keep up the blogging and the pics. its really cool to check out ur site and to see where you are and what you have been doing. have fun and be safe buddy!

  3. Jim January 6, 2009 at 2:46 am #

    diggin’ the blog, Paul.

Leave a Reply

